EWPAA Media Release – EWPAA welcomes new Australian Forest Products Association CEO

EWPAA Media Release

15 February 2024

EWPAA welcomes new Australian Forest Products Association CEO

The Engineered Wood Products Association of Australasia (EWPAA) welcomes the appointment of Ms Diana Hallam as the new Australian Forest Products Association (AFPA) Chief Executive Officer which comes at an important time for our renewable timber products sector.

EWPAA’s Chief Executive Officer, Mr Gavin Matthew said, “Diana has significant previous experience working at senior levels of the Australian Public Service and has expressed a strong commitment to understanding the many issues affecting our supply chain and regional communities across Australia.”

“Diana takes on this important industry leadership role at a critical time with a volatile market for our essential products, a national need to plant more for-harvest trees, a worldwide push for reduced emissions and renewable products, and international impacts continuing to disrupt supply chains.”

“The timber manufacturing sector produces many innovative, reliable, and renewable products that should be recognised as preferred building materials in a low emissions future. There is much to be done but we are confident Diana will hit the ground running, using her understanding of Australia’s public service and political environment, and work for our industry backed by the strong team at AFPA.”

“EWPAA is keen to work with Diana and her team to put in place quality policy settings that will plant more for-harvest trees, build more homes and businesses with timber solutions, and grow our forest product industries,” Mr Matthew concluded.

Inquiries: Gavin Matthew, CEO of EWPAA. (b) (07) 3250 3700. (m) 0429 990 528

2024-02 EWPAA Media Release – AFPA CEO

* About EWPAA. Engineered Wood Products Association of Australasia (EWPAA) is a member association for manufacturers of a broad range of engineered and solid wood products located throughout Australasia, including Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, and Papua New Guinea. https://ewp.asn.au/